Real and Personal Property Auctions
The Orange County Tax Collector uses the In Rem method of foreclosure, in accordance with North Carolina General Statute 105-375.
After the Tax Office has exhausted all other means of collection, properties are seized and then auctioned off.
Next Sale Date: JULY 10, 2019 at 12:01 pm
To be held at the Orange County Courthouse Steps, 106 E. Margaret Lane Hillsborough NC
Below is a list of properties currently being foreclosed: All are sold subject to 2019 taxes that are not covered under this judgment. Purchaser will be responsible for taxes not included in the judgment.
- PIN #9844495672, County of Orange v. Annie G. McDade Heirs (Orange County Estate File 18 E 500) File # 19 M 17; Legal description: Located in Cheeks Township, Orange County, North Carolina and BEGINNING at an iron stake on the East side of New Public Road (leading from N.C. Highway No. 70), Anderson Enoch’s Northwest corner; running thence with Enoch’s North property line South 87° East 172 feet to an iron stake, Enoch’s Northeast corner in Will Turner McAdoo’s West property line; running thence with McAdoo’s West line North 2° East 110 feet to an iron stake, a new corner in McAdoo’s line; thence a new line North 87° West 166 feet to an iron stake on the East side of said Public Road, a new corner; running thence with the East property line of said Public Road South 7° 30’ West 110 feet to the beginning, according to survey and plat of J. Ralph Weaver, dated May 22, 1953 entitled “Property of Robert McDade, Efland, N.C.” the same being a portion of the property conveyed by Deed from John L. Efland, to Thomas Arthur McDade, dated March 26, 1907, recorded in Deed Book 70, Page 311, Office of the Register of Deeds of Orange County. (PIN# 9844495672 Deed Book 147, Page 275, Orange County Register of Deeds). Starting Bid $5,200 subject to change.
- PIN #9883490845, County of Orange v. David A. Burgner File # 19 M 25; Legal description: Located in Eno Township, Orange County, North Carolina and Lying on the northern side of U.S. Highway 70 (Bus.) and BEING all of Lots Nos. 67 through 73, inclusive, of Block A of “SECTION 2 of ENO ACRES” according to the survey and plat thereof by S.M. Credle, C.E., dated March, 1946, and recorded in Plat Book 3, page 152, Orange County Registry, to which plat reference is hereby made for a more particular description of the property conveyed. (PIN# 9883490845; Deed Book 651, page 379, Orange County Registry). Starting Bid $12,000 subject to change
Property Auction Information
Tax foreclosures are held throughout the year. The Orange County Sheriff’s Department conducts each sale at the courthouse steps located at:
106 E Margaret Lane
Hillsborough, NC 27278
The Notices of Sale are advertised for two weeks prior to the sale in the News of Orange or in the Chapel Hill Herald.
The highest bidder at public sale shall be required to pay in full (not make a deposit) the amount of the successful bid at the conclusion of the execution sale (subject to the confirmation of the sale as by law provided). The successful bid amount shall be paid in cash or certified funds (payable to the Orange County Sheriff’s Department).
The Sheriff’s office may, in its discretion, determine and allow a reasonable time within which to deliver the successful bid amount to that office. The successful bidder shall also be responsible for the payment of any excise tax due to the Register of Deeds office, and all recording fees at the appropriate time.
There is a ten day upset bid period in which the high bid may be upset by filing an Upset Bid with the Orange County Clerk of Court. The Upset Bid must be in cash or by certified funds in an amount greater than or equal to 5% of the amount of the Upset Bid but in any event not less than $750 dollars. The Upset Bid must be filed with the Orange County Clerk of Court by 5 p.m. on the tenth day after the filing of the Report of Sale. If the tenth day is a Sunday or a legal holiday or a day which the office of the clerk is not open then the deposit may be made the following business day.
After the ten day upset bid period expires successfully with no upset bid made the Order of Confirmation is filed and the Orange County Sheriff will execute a Non-Warranty Sheriff’s Deed. The total amount of the upset bid in full is due upon delivery of the Sheriff’s Deed.
If you have specific questions regarding Tax Foreclosures in Orange County or regarding a particular property please contact Rebecca Lee, Deputy Tax Collector for Orange County at 919-245-2728 or email Rebecca Lee.
- Properties sold may be subject to IRS Tax Liens, City/County Taxes for any years not covered under our judgment, and other restrictions of record.
- It is your responsibility to research and obtain information regarding the property, prior to the sale.
- PURCHASER WILL RECEIVE A NON-WARRANTED SHERIFF'S DEED UPON COMPLETION OF THE SALE.
- The deed description may include portions of land that have already been sold off by the current owner and are NOT subject to the sale.