News Flash

Home - News & Events

Posted on: June 16, 2021

Commissioners extend deadline to appeal property values to Sept. 1

Prop-Tax

On June 15, 2021, the Orange County Board of Commissioners approved a resolution to extend the 2021 Orange County Board of Equalization and Review Formal Appeal adjournment date from June 30, 2021, to Sept. 1, 2021.

The purpose of this extension is to allow additional time for property owners to formally appeal their 2021 property values to the Board of Equalization and Review.

The Board of Equalization and Review will meet at 1 p.m. on the following additional days (all meetings are virtual unless otherwise noted):

  • Wednesday, July 28
  • Thursday, July 29
  • Wednesday, August 11
  • Thursday, August 12
  • Tuesday, August 17
  • Wednesday, August 18
  • Thursday, August 19
  • Tuesday, August 24
  • Wednesday, August 25
  • Thursday, August 26
  • Tuesday, August 31 (in-person meeting at 228 South Churton Street in Hillsborough)

The board will meet virtually at 1-5 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 1, to adjourn.

Instructions and the Formal Notice of Appeal to the Board of Equalization and Review are available on the Orange County website: http://www.orangecountync.gov/806/Appeals.

Property owners may file a formal appeal online at https://appeals.spatialest.com/nc-orange

To receive a paper copy of the form, email reval@orangecountync.gov or call 919-245-2100, option 2.

All formal appeals must be submitted prior to the Board’s adjournment on Wednesday, Sept. 1, 2021. 

By mail:
Orange County Board of Equalization and Review
Orange County Tax Office
P.O. Box 8181
Hillsborough, NC  27278-8181

Online: https://appeals.spatialest.com/nc-orange, 

In person: 228 South Churton Street, Hillsborough. Drop box is located beside the outer entrance.

Members of the public are able to view the virtual meetings by emailing reval@orangecountync.gov. A link to the meeting will be provided. 

Contact Orange County Tax Office 919-245-2100 option 2 or reval@orangecountync.gov  with any questions.