News Flash Home
The original item was published from 10/16/2018 11:30:03 AM to 11/6/2018 9:33:53 AM.

News Flash

Home - News & Events

Posted on: October 16, 2018

[ARCHIVED] FEMA adds Orange to list of N.C. counties eligible for Florence disaster assistance


WASHINGTON, D.C. (FEMA News Release) -- Residents and business owners in Anson, Orange and Union counties may now apply for disaster assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from Hurricane Florence.

“People across North Carolina are working hard to clean up and rebuild their lives from Hurricane Florence and expanding FEMA help to people in more counties is a key step,” said Gov. Roy Cooper. “I encourage people in Anson, Orange and Union counties who suffered storm damage to apply with FEMA right away.”

To apply:

  • Go online to
  • Call 800-621-3362 (voice, 711 or VRS) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.
  • Visit a disaster recovery center. To find center locations and hours, go online to or download the FEMA mobile app.

If you have a homeowner’s or flood insurance policy, file your insurance claim before applying for disaster assistance.

For qualified homeowners and renters, disaster grants help pay for basic repairs to make a home habitable, temporary rental assistance, and serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other sources. To be eligible, the storm damage and losses must have occurred as a result of Hurricane Florence between Sept. 7 and Sept. 29, 2018.

Disaster assistance may include low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for businesses of all sizes (including landlords), private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters. Next to insurance, SBA serves as the primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property.  

“Today, we’re helping more individuals, more families and more businesses recover from the storm,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Albie Lewis of FEMA. “With the whole community working together, we can recover quicker.” 

The 31 North Carolina counties now designated for Individual Assistance are: Anson, Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Union, Wayne and Wilson.

For more information on North Carolina’s recovery from Hurricane Florence, visit and

Facebook Twitter Email